Various

17Feb16

I’m currently doing a bit of updating to this site. I have started by removing dead links and updating the biography. More to follow.

Last month was interesting with a trip to the UK the beginning of which coincided with an excellent feature by Sarah Walker on my new CD of solo piano works by Leonid Sabaneyev on BBC Radio 3’s Record Review. A couple of days later I appeared on the same station’s In Tune programme, when I was interviewed by Sean Rafferty and playing live on air pieces by Sabaneyev, Eiges, Scriabin and Michael Finnissy. During the same trip I also played Prokofiev’s 8th Sonata and the complete Rachmaninoff’s Etudes-tableaux op.39 for the first time.

Michael Finnissy is one of the world’s pre-eminent composers of piano music, and he will turn 70 this year. To mark this special occasion and to celebrate the breadth of his remarkable achievement, I’ll be playing his marvellous Verdi Transcriptions a few times. I gave the world premiere of this 3-hour work back in 2005, and so far dates have been secured in London (Guildhall School of Music and Drama, 13 March, 2pm), ‘S-Hertogenbosch (De Toonzaal, 2nd April, 8pm start, so I hope there’s somewhere still open when I’ve finished), and Oxford (Jacqueline du Pre Music Building, 30 April, 7.30pm). I’m working on more dates for the summer and autumn right now, and details will be posted when things are fixed.



No Responses Yet to “Various”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

