Jānis Mediņš — 24 Dainas forthcoming release

02Sep12

My latest CD is now in the factory, and will soon be available. Jānis Mediņš’ 24 Dainas were written over a period of 40 years. The CD is released by Toccata Classics. Mediņš was from a family of Latvian musicians and helped establish opera and ballet in his native country. After emigrating to Sweden, he concentrated on chamber music. His music is broadly Romantic with strong links to Latvian folk traditions (the daina is a traditional Latvian folk form). This was the first CD I made with the excellent Adaq Khan, the sound engineer with whom I’ve just recorded some Grainger (including Stevenson’s transcription of Hill Song no.1, and early rarities like Train Music and Sea Song Sketch), and the music of Konstantin Eiges (1875-1950, a friend of Rachmaninoff and Medtner). News on them as and when.

 



2 Responses to “Jānis Mediņš — 24 Dainas forthcoming release”

  1. 1 Jean-Frédéric

    Dear Jonathan.

    First of all, I must thank you a hundred times for this upcoming recording of Janis Medins’s Dainas. Those pieces are true gems and I’m pleased to know the world will get to know them better.

    Being a pianist myself (and a rare music lover), i’ve looked all over the internet to find and buy a copy of the scores, but never got to find them. You would make my day (and my month, even!) if you could let me know how you managed to find yours. My e-mail address is jfhr84@gmail.com

    Most sincere greetings,

    Jean-Frédéric, Montréal.

    • 2 Scott Miller

      I wonder the same thing. I see them in pdf form, but has anyone republished these works?


Leave a Reply

